Inconsiderately Polite

College Students' Views on Etiquette Online

A Final Reflection: My Pecha Kucha and Blog Topic

on May 4, 2013

Four weeks ago, my classmates and I entered our third module of the Intro To Writing Arts class we began this semester. This very unique set up created by our professors at Rowan University allowed us to learn all about writing, how it has transformed, and how it will continue to change.  This entire blog was set up for the final module, which is called The Future Of Writing. This class has allowed me to look at the impact Web 2.0 tools have had on our writing and how the writing will continue to change depending on what new technologies become available.

For our final project, we were asked to create a Pecha Kucha about our blog topic. A Pecha Kucha is a presentation set up in a 20/20/1 format, which was entirely new to me. This means that there are twenty slides total, split up between the four group members  Each slide is only allowed to be shown for 20 seconds and there can only be one image on each slide. This blog post, which is a Final Reflection, will discuss how I used this format to describe my topic and will focus on one slide that I did successfully. I will also be describing what I have learned about the topic of Etiquette and how it has grown with the current technologies.

A Walk Through A Slide

The general topic of our presentation was Etiquette on the internet, but I focused focused on using netiquette to keep your information secure and private as well as how to properly use other people’s work that is found on the internet. I was excited to focus on this because when I originally started researching, I realized I knew nothing about how to keep my information secure and private. I also realized after talking to people about my topic, that most of my peers did not know how to either.   My favorite slide was when I discussed keeping your information private and secure because anyone can access it once it is out on the internet. I felt this was my most effective slide because it was the most shocking. Most internet users are unaware of the fact that online profiles and Guest IDs are created for them by companies and can even be sold to others. Once I learned this through my research, I wanted to know as much about it as possible because I felt that this went against proper netiquette and could also be prevented by following netiquette rules.

images (1)The picture I chose to accompany this information was a picture of a laptop with rope and a lock across it. I felt that this really summarized my point- that if you do not follow proper netiquette guidelines to keep your information safe, everything you do while using a Web 2.0 technology puts your information at risk. I chose this picture because I felt it was effective at showing the theme of my discussion, which was how unsafe online can be, and because the picture worked well with the facts and quotes I chose to discuss in that 20 seconds.

While discussing the point of keeping your information safe, I chose to quote an article we read for class written by Charle Duhigg. Duhigg’s stated in “How Companies Learn Your Secrets,” that companies can buy personal data about you and create extensive profiles.They get the information needed by the information people put out into the internet through the use of Web 2.0 tools. I felt that this was important for my peers to know because many people are unaware of their information being used or stolen and I wanted to be sure they understood it could be avoided if they followed proper netiquette. I also thought Duhigg’s statement was the perfect example of how writing has changed because of the internet. Even something as simple as an About Me on Facebook, something we never think twice about writing,  could be used against us and to hurt us because once we write something online it can never be taken back. I feel that the combination of the picture and the quote from Duhigg was a very effective way to present my point, and with the help of the Pecha Kucha presentation format, I feel that this combination created my most effective slide and it was only 20 seconds long!

 

What I Learned About My Blog Topic

The amount I have learned about internet etiquette is very surprising to me. When we first chose this topic, I knew nothing about the proper internet etiquette. Originally I thought it would be a simple topic, but boy was I wrong! The amount of information available about this topic is astounding and continuing to grow each day because there is always new websites, which means there is always a new proper way to act. First, the one thing that I consider to be the most important thing I learned is that internet etiquette is called “netiquette.” Although this may not seem like a huge deal, using the term netiquette while discussing internet etiquette is actually proper netiquette! I know that may be a little confusing, but I can assure you that websites like networketiquette.net can clear it up for you! Networketiquette.net became like a Bible to me while researching this topic, be cause it provided me with basic definitions and rules of internet etiquette.

I began to realize exactly how it applied to our in class discussions. In class, on how Web 2.0 technologies have been changing the way we write and communicate with others, especially because of all the growing spaces and ways to do so. Netiquette is important to this communication because it explains how to act properly on the internet. Many of the readings for this class have discussed online identities and different forms of communication through Web 2.0 tools, which benefitted my research because I got to learn how netiquette has changed and how it is not always followed, like on Twitter and blog posts. One of the articles we read, “Who Am We” by Sherry Turkle, discussed how people have created and used different online identities for all different purposes. Her quote “the Internet links millions of people in new spaces that are changing the way we think and the way we form our communities” describes perfectly why learning how to properly communicate on the internet is so important.

I learned simple lessons like not to use caps lock, not to send emails too late, not to spam, and to spell check. The two most important netiquette rules in my opinion are Be Yourself and Be Conservative, so these are the ones I focused on the most. I learned how frequently people use the internet for the wrong reasons,  like to troll or steal identities, so being yourself and protecting the information you share are important to your successful use of Web 2.0 technologies. Ultimately, I learned that if you do not practice proper netiquette rules, you can ruin other’s experience online and you could put your personal information at risk.

Overall, I have learned how important netiquette is to the new Web 2.0 technologies and how it will remain to be important and evolve with all future creations. Acting properly is expected, but many are unaware of the proper procedures to take. In my opinion, using common sense, being yourself, and protecting your information are the most simple and important ways to practice proper netiquette. I know I will be doing all three.


Leave a comment

Inconsiderately Polite

College Students' Views on Etiquette Online

Identifying John Doe

Do you really know who you're talking to?

Safety In The Machine

Welcome to the Jungle

Always There, Never Gone

Being unchanged indefinitely.